The George Soros Visiting Chair

CEU and SPP Founder George Soros

The George Soros Visiting Chair was established with generous contributions from the friends and family of George Soros, the founder of Central European University and of the School of Public Policy, and the Honorary Chairman of the CEU Board of Trustees.

The George Soros Visiting Chair or the George Soros Visiting Practitioner Chair is awarded to scholars or practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding achievement or a distinguished record of participation in the academic, professional, journalistic, political, or civic world of public policy.

The School of Public Policy hosted Judith Aldridge in the Fall term of the 2017/18 Acadenic Year and welcomed John Ryle in the Spring of 2018. 

In the 2016/17 Academic Year saw five George Soros Visiting Chairs. In the Fall Term Elzbieta Gozdziak joined SPP. For the Winter Term two George Soros Visiting Practitioner Chairs, Eamon Gilmore and Sidney Jones, joined SPP. Carmen Gonzalez and Aruna Roy joined SPP for the Spring Term. 

Past George Soros Visiting Chairs include Yasmin Sooka, Karin Landgren, Anders Fänge, Stephen Chan and Mutayyam al O'ran.

The selection committee welcomes nominations and applications at any time. The next deadline for the Program will be in February 28, 2018.

For more information on the George Soros Visiting Chair, please email