Civil Society Leadership Awards

Connect With SPP

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide fully funded master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities. CSLA directly assists future leaders in countries where civil society is challenged by a deficit of democratic practice in local governance and social development.

Awards are available for master's degree study in public policy or administration at universities participating in the CSLA program including the School of Public Policy at Central European University. The School of Public Policy's Master of Public Administration (MPA) and Master of Arts in Public Policy (MAPP) curriculums are focused on the study and practice of global public policy. CEU is an English-language, U.S. graduate university located in Budapest and accredited in both the United States and Hungary. The MPA and MAPP programs are registered and accredited in the State of New York.


Successful applicants will receive the following support (an approximate total value of more than EUR €46,000):

  • Full tuition scholarship and mandatory university fees
  • Housing allowance
  • Living stipend
  • Health insurance
  • Program-related travel
  • Funds for professional development
  • All costs associated with attendance at an annual student conference
  • Pre-university writing program in July or August that prepares finalist for the rigors of graduate level academic study

Note: The scholarship does NOT provide funding for dependent family members.

Eligibility Requirements

Citizens of the following countries are eligible to apply for the CSLA awards: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Laos, Libya, Myanmar/Burma, Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Scholarship Application Procedures and Deadline

For more details about the eligibility criteria, guidelines, and application procedures, please visit the Open Society Foundations website.

The application deadline for this award is September 15.